Racecourses > Thirsk
Today’s Weather
Thirsk Racecourse
Light rain11ºC

Click here for Thirsk Fixtures


Thirsk is a fairly sharp, left-handed course of about 1m2f in circumference. It’s mainly level and there is a definite advantage in having a low draw in races over 7f and a mile, especially in big fields. Close-coupled handy types do best on the round course. Races over 5f and 6f are run on a chute which joins the round course at the 3f marker. A high draw, near the stands rail, is favourable in sprint races, though soft ground can negate the advantage and big fields will occasionally split into two groups. In that case, it’s often difficult for those drawn in the centre to get competitive.
The Thirsk Classic Trial, staged in April, has produced pointers towards the 2000 Guineas in the past (Tap On Wood won it in 1979 before coming out on top at Newmarket) but the Thirsk Hunt Cup, staged in May, is probably the highlight of the year at the North Yorkshire Flat course nowadays. Leading northern trainers Kevin Ryan, Richard Fahey and Tim Easterby have all won the latter twice in recent years but the big Newmarket stables have also started to take an interest. Winners older than six are uncommon.
There is normally racing every month between April and September at the picturesque course which nestles between the North Yorkshire Moors and the Dales on the A61. Both the A1 and A19 trunk road are less than 10 minutes away. Thirsk Station is a half-mile from the course entrance.
Richard Fahey’s introduces some nice two-year-olds here and Tom Tate’s three-year-old handicappers do well. Also take note of David O’Meara’s older horses.

Friday 24th July Results
Time Winner Racecard
2.00 Miningrocks 15/2 View Result
2.30 El Astronaute 17/2 View Result
3.05 Dutch Mist 5/2 View Result
3.40 Gold Merlion 6/1 View Result
4.15 Fast Charlie 17/2 View Result
4.45 Punk Rocker 4/1 View Result
5.15 Pacngo 4/1 View Result
Tuesday 14th July Results
Time Winner Racecard
6.10 Estikhraaj 2/1 View Result
6.40 Blue Jacket 9/2 View Result
7.10 Camanche Grey 3/1 View Result
7.40 Arizona John 13/2 View Result
8.10 Scent Of Summer 11/10 View Result
8.40 Exclusive Contract 10/3 View Result
9.10 Sands Chorus 8/1 View Result
Wednesday 1st July Results
Time Winner Racecard
2.00 Mecca's Missus 7/4 View Result
2.30 Edgeoftheforest 25/1 View Result
3.00 Bogsnog 4/1 View Result
3.30 Secret City 8/1 View Result
4.00 Hot Spice 9/2 View Result
4.30 Rex Imperator 9/2 View Result
5.00 Calima Breeze 7/4 View Result
5.30 Qaffaal 9/2 View Result
Tuesday 16th June Results
Time Winner Racecard
2.20 Dutch Mist 2/1 View Result
2.55 Pumaflor 16/1 View Result
3.30 Ace Master 12/1 View Result
4.05 Forest Maiden 15/8 View Result
4.45 Emerahldz 15/8 View Result
5.20 Bella Nostalgia 5/6 View Result
5.50 Jebediah Shine 10/1 View Result

Search for a Horse