Racecourses > Bangor
Today’s Weather
Bangor Racecourse
Light rain1ºC

Click here for Bangor Fixtures

Bangor-on-Dee, not the one with the university facing Anglesey, first staged racing in 1859 and has done so regularly since, apart from during the two world wars. Since 2006, in March and May, it has also hosted regular point-to-point meetings on a track inside the main course.
Left-handed, Bangor only stages national hunt racing and has always done its own thing. Owned by the Chester Race Company, the track is the only one in the UK that doesn’t have a grandstand with viewing from banked areas adjacent to the paddock and finishing line. The course, alongside the River Dee and in picturesque countryside, is relatively tight and includes three sharp bends and tends to favour those who like to race up with the pace. It can be found on the A525 between Whitechurch and Wrexham and is clearly signposted from the A483. From the M6, take the M54 and leave at junction 3 for the A41 to Whitechurch. Wrexham is the nearest mainline railway station and a free bus operates to the track on racedays 90 minutes before the first race.
Bangor’s racing isn’t of the highest quality but can be competitive in the winter months as it is easily accessed by the bigger stables in the North-West, Midlands, South Wales and the South-West. Lawney Hill, Donald McCain and Rebecca Curtis have particularly impressive strike rates with their runners and Nicky Richards’ hurdlers are also worthy of a mention when making the trip down from Cumbria.

Friday 15th December Results
Time Winner Racecard
Saturday 2nd December Results
Time Winner Racecard
12.35 Race Status: Dormant View Result
1.05 Race Status: Dormant View Result
1.40 Race Status: Dormant View Result
2.15 Race Status: Dormant View Result
Wednesday 15th November Results
Time Winner Racecard
11.40 Siruh Du Lac 11/1 View Result
12.10 Lady Buttons 4/1 View Result
12.45 Sir Mangan 9/2 View Result
1.20 If The Cap Fits 4/11 View Result
1.50 Dashing Oscar 2/1 View Result
2.20 Born Legend 16/1 View Result
2.55 Shannon Bridge 7/1 View Result
Tuesday 31st October Results
Time Winner Racecard
11.55 Whatmore 13/2 View Result
12.25 Modus 2/9 View Result
1.00 Walter Oneeightone 8/1 View Result
1.30 Diamond Rock 11/2 View Result
2.05 Man Look 12/1 View Result
2.35 One For Rosie 5/2 View Result
3.10 Ballygomartin 16/1 View Result

Search for a Horse